Co-operative Bank increases its secondary school scholarships for bright and needy students

The Co-operative Bank of Kenya has increased its secondary school scholarships for bright but financially disadvantaged children from all over the country

The Co-operative Bank scholarship program which was launched in 2007 provides full school fees scholarships for the entire four years of secondary education.

Under their Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Co-operative Bank has been able to support over 8412 bright and needy students in their secondary education.

Students are selected at the grassroots level by Co-operative Societies across the country through a well-established national delegates system.

Speaking during a past interview with the media, Bank CEO Gideon Muriuki said that the bank has chosen education scholarships as its flagship Corporate Social Investment.

Muriuki observed that education is one of the most expensive items in any household budget and yet has the highest potential to liberate people from poverty.

The bank’s group Managing Director Dr Gideon Muriuki said the bank in addition awards scholarships to each of the 47 counties. 

On Wednesday, Laikipia governor Joshua Irungu received 5 scholarship opportunities for needy students who did their KCPE in 2022 from Co-operative Bank Kenya. 

May be an image of 5 people, people standing and outdoors

Governor Joshua Irungu, EGH received 5 scholarship opportunities for needy students who did their KCPE in 2022 from Co-operative Bank Kenya.

The scholarship forms were handed over to the Governor by Jane Gikara, the Nanyuki Co-operative Bank branch Manager. 

The Governor appreciated the generosity of the bank and assured them that the 5 students will be selected per the bank’s guidelines.

 He also called upon more corporate to invest in the education of children and youth from disadvantaged backgrounds. 

The Governor was accompanied by H.E Reuben Kamuri Deputy Governor Laikipia County, Koinange Wahome, County Secretary, Stephen Kisorio, Ag CECM Education, and other senior county officials.