Connect with us


It’s a “Lockdown” for Nairobi, Coastal Counties



President Uhuru Kenyatta has today declared a cessation of all movement by road rail or air in and out of Nairobi, Kilifi, Mombasa and Kwale counties for 21 days.

The directive starts in Nairobi today at 7 pm, whilst for the three coastal counties, the directive will begin on Wednesday 8th April 2020.

The lockdown also affects the Nairobi metropolitan area which includes:

  • Parts of Kiambu county up to Chania bridge, Thika, including Rironi, Ndenderu, Kiambu town
  • Parts of Machakos up to Athi River including Katani
  • Parts of Kajiado including Kitengela, Kiserian, Ongata Rongai, Ngong’ Town and all areas as set out in the order.

“There is a choice that we are asked to make as a government and as a people. Do we carry on as normal or treat this like an extraordinary emergency – which it is- and fundamentally change the way we act and behave,” Uhuru said.

This comes in the wake of a geo poll report where a majority of Kenyans at 68 percent said they were ready for total lockdown.

President Uhuru Kenyatta also announced that the number of Coronavirus cases has so far risen to 158 after 16 more people tested positive for the novel coronavirus.

More to follow……

Email: Contact: 0735614854 - Would you like to be a contributing write? email

%d bloggers like this: