Connect with us


StanChart Nairobi Marathon: Alphonce Kigen and Evaline Chirchir emerge victorious in the 42km race



  • This year’s marathon attracted over 73 elite athletes and over 21,000 recreational runners.
  • The marathon also hosted 3 satellite runs in Kakamega, Mombasa and Kisumu.

Alphonce Kigen and Evaline Chirchir have won the 42 Kilometers individual men and women categories in the 20th edition of the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon. Over 73  elite athletes, 200 Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) and over 20,000 recreational runners participated in the marathon. The marathon was attended by 22,000 participants. The start and finishing points were at Uhuru Gardens, Langata Road. Runners used the scenic route on the Southern bypass for the physical marathon thus experiencing a great view of the Nairobi National Park.

The marathon featured  six race categories: 42km men and women, 21km men and women, 10km men and women, 21km wheelchair men and women, 5km Family Fun Run race and the Corporate Relay Challenge. The winners are highlighted below:

Race CategoryMaleFemale
10KMStanley Njihia Kamau:28:36Shadrack Musyoka :29:02Evans Mayaka : 29:05    Loise Chemnung : 31:54Gladys Chepkurui: 32:13Betty Sigei :33:23  
21KMJustus Kiprop : 1:02:39Jackson Kipleting: 1:02:43Asbel Kiplimo: 1:03:02  Jacqueline Chelal: 1:11:18Edith Jepchumba: 1:11:56Nancy Jepleting : 1:12:18  
21KM Wheelchair RaceOdiyo Henry Caleb: 1:32:21Samuel Kuria: 1:40:28Milton Hilahuya: 1:46:28Alar Rachel Akoth: 2:02:35Caroline Wanjira: 2:24:52Eunice Otieno: 2:26:03    
42KMAlphonce Kigen: 2:10:18Moses Mwangi: 2:10:26Lameck Kibiwot: 2:11:00Evaline Chirchir: 2:24:31Aurelia Jerotich: 2:26:49Sheila Chepkech: 2:27:16      

The top 3 race winners are:

Race CategoryNAMETime
10KMStanley Njihia Kamau28:36
Shadrack Musyoka29:02
Evans Mayaka29:05
21KMJustus Kiprop1:02:39
Jackson Kipleting1:02:43
Asbel Kiplimo1:03:02
21KM Wheelchair RaceOdiyo Henry Caleb1:32:21
Samuel Kuria1:40:28
Milton Hilahuya    1:46:28
42KMAlphonce Kigen2:10:18
Moses Mwangi2:10:26
Lameck Kibiwot2:11:00
Race CategoryNAMETime
10KMLoice Chemnung31:54
Gladys Chepkurui32:13
Betty Sigei33:23
21KMJacqueline Chelal1:11:18
Edith Chemjor1:11:56
Nancy Jepleting1:12: 18
21KM Wheelchair RaceAlar Rachel Akoth2:02:35
Caroline Wanjira2:24:52
Eunice Otieono2:26:03
42KMEvaline Chirchir2:24:31
Aurelia Jerotich2:26:49
Sheila Chepkech2:27: 16


Name : KDF (1) PRIZE: KSH 100,000
Cornelius Korir   30:43
Barton Melly       31:41
Moses Kemboi    32:06Denis Kilee  32:06

Speaking at the conclusion of the 20th edition of the marathon, Peter Gitau, Chairman, Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon Local Organizing Committee said,
“This year marks a significant milestone as we celebrate the 20th anniversary of this incredible marathon. Over the past two decades, we have witnessed an amazing journey of growth, and I am honoured to be a part of this celebration.” He continued and stated, “Our marathon is not just about running; it’s about making a real difference in the lives of those who need it the most. Standard Chartered Bank, in partnership with our sponsors, uses this event as a powerful vehicle to promote greater economic inclusion, especially for disadvantaged young people. We take pride in the fact that all the proceeds from this marathon are dedicated to our ‘Future Makers’ initiative, which focuses on creating a brighter future for the youth of Kenya.

Standard Chartered partnered with Anti-Doping Agency of Kenya (ADAK) to ensure the results were credible. Additionally, every participant  received a tree seedling to plant at a place of their choice through the marathon’s ‘one tree per runner’ initiative. All proceeds will be channeled towards the bank’s Futuremakers initiative where the bank is working with disadvantaged young people – especially girls and persons with disabilities to gain new skills and expertise to improve their chances of getting a job or starting their own business. Futuremakers empowers the next generation to learn, earn and grow by focusing on education, employability, and entrepreneurship.

Prize Money

PositionPhysical 42KMPhysical 21KMPhysical 21KM WheelchairPhysical 10KM
1KES 2,000,000KES 300,000KES 300,000KES 200,000
2KES 750,000KES 150,000KES 150,000KES 150,000
3KES 500,000KES 100,000KES 100,000KES 100,000
4KES 150,000 
5KES 100,000
6KES 50,000
7KES 40,000
8KES 30,000
9KES 20,000
10KES 10,000
Continue Reading
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Email: Contact: 0735614854 - Would you like to be a contributing writer? email